Easy Pastry Dough Recipe

divide dough, wrap and refrigerate

This dough is versatile, easy to make and very forgiving. Versatile because it can be used in savory dishes as well as sweet treats. Easy to make because it has very few ingredients and can be done in a food processor. Forgiving because it rolls out easily even when rolled thin and doesn’t tear like some dough. I use this dough to make Chicken Pie Pockets and Pizza Pockets. This recipe yields 10 pocket size disk or 2 crust.

Ingredients:

  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter – soften to room temp
  • 4 ozs of cream cheese – soften to room temp
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 1/2 cups plain flour
  • 1/4 cup milk or heavy cream

Directions:

Cream together butter, cream cheese and milk until blended. This can be done in a food processor, mixer or by hand. Add flour and salt and mix until combine. Divide dough in half. Place each half in a storage bag or plastic wrap. Flatten and form a disk shape. Refrigerate for 30 mins. Working with one disk at a time, roll dough on a floured surface until 12″ diameter, thin but not transparent.

cream cheese, butter and milk

add flour and salt to cream cheese mixture

divide dough, wrap and refrigerate

About Angie

Hi I’m Angie. I started Naturally Frugal Homemaker to share how I found a more natural, frugal and simple lifestyle. I love to cook, so I will be sharing my recipes too. My recipes aren’t limited to food either. I have several DIY cleaners and beauty recipes to share. Saving money, feeding my family good food and leading a simple happy life are my passions.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easy Pastry Dough Recipe

  1. Now this is an interesting pastry recipe! ever seen one like it. Sounds very creamy and smoothe.

  2. Pingback: Whole Wheat Apricot Scones « My Spanish Translator

I LOVE comments! What are your thoughts?

