What Is Chamomile – Home Remedies With Herbs

This is one tea I think every household should keep on hand. The uses for chamomile are endless. It makes a mild flavored tea and is easily combine with other herbal teas for home remedies.

Chamomile is an herb and a member of the daisy family. Some active ingredients in the flower are flavonoids, apigenin,  luteolin and quercertin. These ingredients contribute to chamomile’s anti-inflammatory, antispasmodic and smooth-muscle relax action, especially in the gastrointestinal tract.  

English: Chamomile Flowers For more translatio...

English: Chamomile Flowers  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Chamomile can be used as a tea to drink or used topically. Studies have shown that topical applications of chamomile can help with eczema.

Chamomile is gentle enough for children. Teething, whining, colic and restlessness can be a nightmare for any parent and the poor little ones who suffer from it. A chamomile tea can help with all of these.

  • To relieve teething – You can make a chamomile tea, soak a cloth in the tea and freeze. After it is frozen, let them chew on the cloth.
  • For pink eye relief –  Make a strong tea, soak a cotton ball in the tea and use on the eye for relief of symptoms.
  • For relief of tired eyes – Just like the pink eye relief, use a cotton ball soaked in strong tea.
  • For sore muscle relief – Add a strong tea to a warm bath or use a cloth soaked in tea for a more local application.
  • Sip on chamomile tea to relieve nervousness
  • Chamomile tea promotes relaxation – drink before bed for a more restful sleep or if you are having a difficult time falling asleep.
  • By relaxing the gastrointestinal tract, chamomile tea can aid in digestion.


 I recommend Twinings brand. Twinings is 100% pure chamomile blossoms. I can buy it at my local grocer for less than $4 a box of 20 tea bags.

To make chamomile tea is easy.

Hot Tea- Pour freshly boiled water over tea bag, cover and allow to brew for 5 minutes. Add honey and/or lemon to taste

Iced Tea- To make 1 quart, use 4 tea bags and brew as suggested for hot tea using 4 cups of water. Add honey {or your choice of sweetener}  Allow to cool, then serve over ice.

Chamomile Popsicle – 3 cups chamomile tea, 2 cups plain yogurt, 1 Tbsp lemon juice, 2 Tbsp honey or sugar to taste. Mix, pour into molds and freeze. These will keep about 2 weeks in freezer.

About Angie

Hi I’m Angie. I started Naturally Frugal Homemaker to share how I found a more natural, frugal and simple lifestyle. I love to cook, so I will be sharing my recipes too. My recipes aren’t limited to food either. I have several DIY cleaners and beauty recipes to share. Saving money, feeding my family good food and leading a simple happy life are my passions.
This entry was posted in Budget, Recipes, Simple Living and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What Is Chamomile – Home Remedies With Herbs

  1. Chamomile is also a great base when making a new beverage.
    Try adding different citrus fruits with it for a refreshing iced tea!

  2. dezertsuz says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of great uses for chamomile. I only knew it was relaxing before bed! I’ll pass the teething one along to a friend with a teether. =)

  3. Pingback: Chamomile: An Herbal Remedy for Everyone | Enlightened Lotus Wellness

I LOVE comments! What are your thoughts?